Our Programmes



Sign up to our newsletter.

Follow ODI

Small Island Developing States (SIDS) Future Forum 2024



Ahead of the Fourth International Conference on Small Island Developing States (SIDS4) in May, the SIDS Future Forum 2024 gathered policymakers, researchers, development partners and community leaders for a collaborative effort to build a 10-year roadmap for SIDS.

The Forum addressed urgent issues facing SIDS, including debt, declining productivity, climate threats and access to climate finance. Underpinning these discussions were 12 draft research papers – commissioned by the Resilient and Sustainable Islands Initiative (RESI) – exploring five key themes: resilient economies; safe societies; secure futures; environmental integrity; and data and implementation.

All 12 papers will be finalised and published on the RESI website ahead of SIDS4, when they will contribute as supporting material/annexes to the next 10-year roadmap for SIDS – the Antigua and Barbua Accord for SIDS. An outcome document, summarising the solutions developed at the Forum, will also provide recommendations to SIDS4.

Recordings of all sessions are available on the Island Innovation website!

Visit the official SIDS Future Forum webpage to watch the keynote speech, presentations and Q&As from Day 1, as well as the invitation-only 'Civil Society Roundtables' from Day 2.


  • Dr Emily Wilkinson, ODI

    Emily Wilkinson (Session Chair)

    Senior Research Fellow, ODI | Director, Resilient and Sustainable Islands Initiative (RESI)

  • Matthew Bishop

    Matthew Bishop (Session Chair)

    Senior Lecturer in International Politics, University of Sheffield | Director, RESI

  • Courtney Lindsey headshot

    Courtney Lindsay (Session Chair)

    Senior Research Officer, ODI

  • R_BOUHIA.jpg

    Rachid Bouhia (Session Chair)

    Economic Affairs Officer, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) | Director, RESI

  • Gail Hurley

    Gail Hurley (Session Chair and Panellist)

    Independent Finance Expert

  • Simona Marinescu (Session Chair)

    Senior Advisor Small Island Developing States, United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS)

  • Jack Corbett

    Jack Corbett (Keynote Speaker)

    Professor and Head of the School of Social Sciences, Monash University, Australia | Director, RESI

  • Carl-Ann Blackman

    Carl-Ann Blackman (Panellist)

    International Trade Policy Consultant

  • Tumasie Blair (Speaker)

    Government of Antigua & Barbuda

  • Garreth Byatt

    Gareth Byatt (Panellist)

    Risk Insight Consulting, Australia

  • Denyse S. Dookie

    Denyse S. Dookie (Panellist)

    Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change & the Environment

  • Rebecca Fabrizi (Panellist)

    Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO)

  • Rabab Fatima (Panellist)

    United Nations Office of the High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States (UN-OHRLLS)

  • Daniel Hammett

    Dan Hammett (Panellist)

    Department of Geography, University of Sheffield

  • Li Junhua (Panellist)

    United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA)

  • Viliame Kasanawaqa

    Viliame Kasanawaqa (Panellist)

    Shipwrecked Lab, Fiji

  • Fotografia José Lopes

    José Lopes (Panellist)

    Institute of Economic and Business Sciences, Cape Verde

  • Fatumanava-o-Upolu III Dr Pa’olelei Luteru (Speaker)

    Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS)

  • Preeya Mohan

    Preeya Mohan (Panellist)

    University of the West Indies, Trinidad & Tobago

  • Sarah Peck

    Sarah Peck (Panellist)

    Northumbria University UK

  • Karuna Rana

    Karuna Rana (Panellist)

    Big Ocean States Initiative (BOSI), Mauritius

  • Kalim Shah 2020_cropped_headshot

    Kalim Shah (Panellist)

    Island Policy Lab, Biden School of Public Policy, University of Delaware

  • Margot St John-Sebastian

    Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS)

  • William Waqavakatoga

    William Waqavakatoga (Panellist)

    University of Adelaide, Australia

  • Walton Webson (Panellist)

    Government of Antigua & Barbuda